The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am attempting to create a heavily planted shrimp tank. I have high lighting, sponge filter, HOB filter, BDBS substrate, osmocote fert in the substrate, dosing some api fert i have for the water column. Plant wise I have a lot of stem plants in the back, dwarf hair grass (attempting to make floor out of it), a couple small plants that I don’t know the name of, and a rock covered in Java moss. The Java moss is where my issue started. I noticed the algae start but didn’t do anything until it spread to some of my other plants. I completely took the Java moss out and tried to clean the other plants but there is little Java moss with hair algae all over and it’s spreading. What can I do? I was thinking of putting in a CO2 system. Water parameters are all zero since it just got started up and ph is around 8.2 (I don’t know why it’s so high) i use api master test. And I’m new to the whole forum idea so sorry if this is a mess.

·
snails are your friend
3,093 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Do you have a hardness test by chance? KH and GH tested out of your tap compared to other samples (water that's sat open overnight, water with some of your mystery stone, etc.) can go a long way to determining the issue. That said; high light, few plants, and a new tank equal algae blooms every time regardless of whether something is raising your KH and therefore pH.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would say I have quite a bit of plants in there. It’s only a 10 gallon but I have nowhere else to plant anything other then the area where the rock was. Would CO2 be beneficial to the plants and help the plants outcompete the algae?

·
Registered
374 Posts
Hi Joseph, welcome to the forums :)