The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello-

I am purchasing a pregnant female guppy from my LFS sometime soon. Just wondering if I need any liscenses to become a home breeder. I am planning on starting small, and saving only the ones I want, giving others to the LFS. What would be the best way to do this?

Also, once I become more established, I would also like to post some guppies for sale on Swap n' Shop. How would I package and ship the fish? I will use flat rate boxes for sure though.... I am a total newbie to breeding, so please, help!

Thanks,

tetrabettaguy97

·
Registered
920 Posts
idk what to tell you other than guppies are so common, you will have a hard time selling them unless you have special breeds.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Hello, nice to meet you.
Hello-

I am purchasing a pregnant female guppy from my LFS sometime soon. Just wondering if I need any liscenses to become a home breeder.
No, but you may need a business license to officially sell your fish to a LFS. Many of them will take the fish for free or for store credit, though, it just depends on state laws and the business you are dealing with.

I am planning on starting small, and saving only the ones I want, giving others to the LFS. What would be the best way to do this?
That's the best way, you can also give them away on craigslist, or feed them to something bigger.
Also, once I become more established, I would also like to post some guppies for sale on Swap n' Shop. How would I package and ship the fish? I will use flat rate boxes for sure though.... I am a total newbie to breeding, so please, help!
Okay...where to begin. Okay you are going to need several tanks, this is important to segregate your stock, according to what traits you are going after. Selective breeding is how you find these beautiful guppies for sale. It is a slow process, as your gestation period is 30 days and sexual maturity takes several months.