The Planted Tank Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,071 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the planted aspect of aquaria and recently bought the following, which just arrived:
3 stems of limnophila aromatica
3-5 stems of bacopa australis
1 anubia petite
1 stem of corkscrew val
5-10 stems of najas grass

I was expecting a bit more, but wanted to check with those who know more than me before filing a complaint or whatever because maybe my expectations were just too high.

The aromatica size is fine and the bacopa is fine, the anubia is yellow and algae covered, the stem of corkscrew val is more like a plantlet and the stems of najas grass... can those be called stems? how about stubs?

Check the pic... quarter included for size reference.

comments/advice appreciated.

·
Registered
1,600 Posts
It's a tough call in my mind. With some of the Internet vendors you have minimums (>$25), plus sizable S&H on top of that. So, to get several varieties of plants for $15 is not a terrible deal. Then again, if I had asked you for $15, I certainly would have included quite a bit more. Then again, with my time at a premium these days, the last few times I shipped off plants to fellow hobbiests, I really wondered if it was worth my time (which clearly on a $/hr basis it never has been...but for the 'goodwill' effect...).

·
Premium Member
5,071 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Minsc: it would be a nice piece of a nana petite if it weren't covered in algae.
BSS: can't really compare this to internet orders, this is from our own swap and shop.

When I buy stem plants at the LFS, they are a bunch of 3 stems each 8-12" for $2.99. I expected similar size here. Especially the naja grass... i don't see how you can call 2" nubs "stems." Looks more like what I'd throw away when cleaning my tank. And that corkscrew val? c'mon man...