The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I promised my daughters an aquarium. Too allergic to cats and dogs and don't want the noise of birds, so they have to settle for fish.

Several weeks of research, youtube videos, and forum lurking later I settled on going with a low-tech planted freshwater community tank, and have finally gotten enough materials together to actually start the build.

The last time I had an aquarium was as a teenager in the 90's and it was a small thing, and certainly wasn't planted. Yet I've done the entirely crazy thing of going large and diving into doing a dirted tank which I've never done before. you can either watch me succeed or crash and burn. Because I am well aware this might totally fail I am at least trying to be reasonable with my budget yet it's already added up.

Here is a pic of my (currently) completely empty tank on its stand, a 55g rimmed Aqueon I got for $81.18 w/ tax from petco. It is sitting on a stand I got from Walmart for $115.16. That cost includes the cost of some lumber I bought to build in additional internal support. While the thing was cheap and the packaging said it was rated for 550lbs, I just didn't trust it. Its "engineered" wood looked flimsy though it still held together well. Still, a 55g could supposedly get up to 625lbs so that was enough reason for me to add in five lengths of 2x6" between two 5/8" plywood on the inside as seen in the second pic.

I'm going with an inexpensive substrate so that meant hitting the home improvement stores. I have 2, 50 lbs of beige pool filter sand, 50 lbs of pea gravel, a bag of Red Lava rocks, and 1.5 cubic feet of Miracle Gro Raised Bed Potting Soil. No I don't expect to use all of the above, but do plan on having 2-4 inches of substrate in there.

The ingredients listed on the Miracle Gro Raised Bed Potting Soil is listed as (for Texas):