The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I bought 3 new plants recently all with tropica branding - cryptocoryne wilisii, bacopa autralis and glossostigma elatinoides.. the first two are happy healthy and growing like mad - especially the bacopa, but the glosso is just dying off (turning yellow at the plant base) before it can establish itself. I have no idea where I'm going wrong, but I'm just a beginner at this stuff, so there's lots to learn.

All tank Specs & pics -> http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/yourtanks.php?do=view&id=348

basics:
20G
65W Aqualight PC light over stock tank hood
Pressurized CO2 @30ppm by a drop checker
dosing tropica master grow and seachem comprehensive
macros from fish waste
basic aquarium gravel
weekly 25% water changes (nitrates sit about 10-20ppm)

idears?

-Rich

·
Registered
126 Posts
Only thing that stands out is you're using gravel. It might be possible that the glosso will come back, but it sounds like a hard plant to grow without a nutrient based substrate.

·
Registered
803 Posts
I agree ~ from what I've read, glosso needs a nutrient rich substrate since I think it's a root feeder as much or more than it is a leaf feeder. One other thing it may be ~ after the yellowing, do the leaves turn clearish or brown-clear sort of, then "melt" away? If so, you might have been sent glosso that was grown emersed (above water). If that's it, then it'll grow back in once it adjusts to submersed conditions.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Years ago Tropica used to brag that they grew such fine quality aquatic plants precisely because they were grown emmersed/hydrophonically. I am not sure if that has changed but at the time I never understood why that was something to brag about when you knew you'd have to get the plants to readjust to underwater living.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi,