The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the hobby and new here other than lots of reading. I'm getting ready to set up a new moderately planted 38 gallon. CO2, dry ferts, and a planted+. I went overboard and got an Eheim 2217 in case I upgrade the tank down the road. The problem that comes in is that I'm going to have Bettas in the tank so I can't have a very strong flow. I was planning on going with a poppy pipe, or one of the lily pipes with the ring at the end. Never having used this before I'm not sure if using one of them and the valve in the filter lines will decrease the flow enough. The other thing that crossed my mind was splitting the outlet with a Y and use two poppy pipes, one on each side of the tank. Anyone have any suggestions?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
75g, 40g, 20g
3,848 Posts
Splitting the flow between 2 outlets would help a bunch. Partially closing the inline valve on the outlet side will also help. If your tank came with a spraybar, another option would be to use a drill to double the number of holes in the spraybar. This would reduce the force coming out of each hole. For a 38 gallon tank, I suspect the 2217 is not going to be blowing your betta against the wall. I have a 40 gallon tank with an AquaTop CF-400 filter. It has a DIY spraybar for the output. If there is some fine debris in the water, you can "see" the water movement but as far as the various stem plants are concerned, water flow is very minimal.

·
Registered
209 Posts