The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 29 gallon tank that I broke down recently and am planning on setting it up as a planted tank. The current plan is to use black diamond blasting media as a substrate. I'm still learning about aquatic plants, but the plan is to start with easier palnts (if such a thing exists) and move up as I get experience. I'll be building a sump for the tank as that is also a new experience for me. Since that isn't difficult enough :icon_roll I'd also like to include an aquaponic grow bed in the system. the goal is to minimize the maintenance to the system. I know. Adding to the complexity of the system is likely to increase the maintenance requirements for said system. Based on the set ups I've seen during my research, a properly configured system can allow for more/larger fish and reduce the need for water changes and other maintenance.

The questions I have for you are:

Should I drill the tank or just use a HOB overflow?

If you drill, would you drill the back of the tank or the bottom? Why?

I understand some tanks have tempered glass on the bottom and you shouldn't drill that. I'm not asking about that. Assuming that my tank can be drilled in either location, which would you pick and why?

·
Registered
2,744 Posts