The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello ^^ So i just got my betta fish today, he is blue and his name is Geppetto. This is my first time ever owning a fish. He has his own little castle which he likes to swim under and hid behind. He seems pretty active and he knows his name when I call him. He seems to like me, as his fins move quick when he sees me. I'll feed him once a day and clean his bowl once a week. And also make sure he has fresh water.
My mom has had plenty of bettas who live in bowls with real plants in them, but my just has his castle. I live in a dorm so i want so i'm trying to make sure the room is a good temperature for him.

Please any good tips on keeping him healthy and happy would be most appreciated. :bounce::proud:

·
Registered
652 Posts
Bettas should be kept at a constant temp between 75-82 degrees F and needs a 'bowl' that is AT LEAST 2.5 gallons, and smaller and you won't have him for long i am afraid. I only use the tetra heaters from walmart, great little heaters that look good, don't take up to much room and keep the tank at a constant temp. of 79 degrees F.

I breed bettas and keep each of my males (plakat and crowntails) in a 5 gallon planted, which are filtered and heated. You can see one is my siggy. Females share a divided 10 gallon and one in each of the community tanks of mine (20 gallons).

They get fed froozen blood worms before i spawn or as treats every week, and the rest of the time i switch between flake and freeze-dried bloodworms. I always have a pinch of aquarium salt in each of there aquariums.