The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I would like to say sorry if this has been asked a thousand times. However I could not seem to find answers to these questions.

I have been keeping fish, mostly cichlids off and on for 20 years. I have never done a planted tank before and want to try my hand at it.

As far as tank setup is concerned:
75g glass tank
Rena XP3 canister filter
300w heater
AquaticLife T5 HO Dual Lamp Light Fixture - (1) 48" 48W 650nm Pink Roseate
(1) 48" 48W 6,000°K
80 lbs of Eco-Complete

Now on to the questions. Keep in mind that none of this is setup yet. I am making sure I understand the basics of plant care first before I do anything with the tank.

1) Is there some good reputable online sites to buy aquatic plants from? In my local area I have only found one store and they are pricey and plants did not look good.

2) I plan on running the fishless cycle. Adding ammonia to get it to 5ppm and keeping it there until the tank cycles and all ammonnia disapears over night. So once the tank has cycled, I understand that I can plant the plants. However should I keep dosing the ammonia until I get a bio-load in the tank. Meaning, with the plants planted, should I keep dosing the ammonia until I get some fish in the tank?

3) I know this is subjective and depends on what you want to do with the tank, but what would you plants would you muy to start with and how many? I want to keep this a low tech tank. I do not want to have to dose CO2. I want to keep this as simple as possible.

4) If this was your tank, how would you stock your tank? What fish would you put in it and how many? I was thinking about doing a community tank for this setup. Some Cradinal Tetras, maybe some angles, maybe some Gourami's. Not really sure. I would love to hear how you would stock the tank and what quantities you would use. I am open to all ideas.