The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys im quite new to owning fish but ive done some research but i cant find out what this is? Do i need to be worried about this? the tank is around a week old i have 6 neon tetras 6 cardinal tetras and 1 pleco, getting quite worried!

Do i need to take this out!?

Any help will be amazing!!!!

Attachments

·
Registered
72 Posts
Hi guys im quite new to owning fish but ive done some research but i cant find out what this is? Do i need to be worried about this? the tank is around a week old i have 6 neon tetras 6 cardinal tetras and 1 pleco, getting quite worried!

Do i need to take this out!?

Any help will be amazing!!!!

This looks similar to stuff I get occasionally, I get mine on wood only and not that much though, I got told by a LFS it was a fungus from the wood reacting to water in a way, not sure specifics etc, i believe it is harmless though, I even have snails that’ll get rid of it occasionally

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This looks similar to stuff I get occasionally, I get mine on wood only and not that much though, I got told by a LFS it was a fungus from the wood reacting to water in a way, not sure specifics etc, i believe it is harmless though, I even have snails that’ll get rid of it occasionally

Thanks for the quick reply! Do you think its worth investing in a few snails?, thanks!

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
It looks like rotting fish food to me. Siphon it out of the tank!

Reactions: Bandit1200

·
Premium Member
5,486 Posts
Did you cycle the tank before adding fish?
What are your water parameters: ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply! Do you think its worth investing in a few snails?, thanks!

Personally snails are a must in my tanks, some don’t like them, if you do, be prepared for dozens of baby snails everywhere.