The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Would this 0.7oz kit rated for up to 15 gallons be ok for just a little boost to my plants in a 29 gallon or should I go for the bigger unit? I'm new to planted tanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
11,991 Posts
I would not recommend it since it uses proprietary cartridges.

Furthermore, for an aquarium your size, those cartridges will run out rather fast.

This means that the cost will build up very quickly, so in the end, it would be better to get a standard CO2 cylinder.

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's what I was thinking, but I was looking at regulator solenoid combos and the nicer ones are kind of pricey, what's a cheap setup I could buy, with a list of everything I would need, I like the idea of a paintball tank setup, I don't want to do one of the soda bottle reactors.

·
Super Moderator
11,991 Posts
Unfortunately, pressurized CO2 is going to be a sizable investment. If you do not have enough money now, I think it is better to save up, and then invest in a proper setup at a later date, rather than buying a cheap system now.

In the long run, buying a cheap setup will likely end up costing you more.

·
Registered
509 Posts
ihave a aquatek mini co2 paintball regular and a 24 oz co2 tank. came out to probaly a lil over $120 on amazon.

the fluval co2 brand set up is the same exact price or even more for a small unit that ithink is worthless.
you would be spending way more in the long run than just getting a good set up.

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
If I was going to go for a pb setup, I'd get a standard regulator and just use an adapter. Not many of the pb regulators are reliable enough for my taste and if you went bigger later you'd already have the standard regulator. Adapters are about $10.

·
Registered
304 Posts