The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

First off, this community is truly amazing. After browsing some other sites I noted a lot of arguments back and forth. This community seems to be a lot more constructive with advice and comments.

I was lurking for a few days and finally decided to register and start asking some questions. I bought a Fluval Edge on Sale from Petsmart and am about two weeks into a fishless cycle. I am adding powdered Ammonia Bicarbonate that I snagged from a lab (I am doing a masters in Wastewater Treatment). If anyone has used this and has met with any pitfalls, please let me know.

My tank currently has the stock halogens (waiting on MR11 LED upgrades) with the 10 watt coralife CFL mod. I am not dosing any ferts or CO2 as I started the tank with ECO complete and was told by the seller that my plants should be alright for a month or so before I need to worry about ferts.

This weekend I purchased some small plants to put into my tank. I am not sure if I have picked some that will be incompatible with my set up, but hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction if I did.

I have purchased:
-E. Tenellus
-Dwarf Hairgrass
-Riccia
-UG

Now I realize that I bought three carpeting plants and my question is whether or not my bottom will be out of control or if I can somehow restrict these plants to "zones". I am likely going to buy an Anubias or MicroSword shortly, to fill in some height in the back. Once the tank appears to have cycled completely, I will likely add a cory/Oto or two kuhli loaches, followed by a school of 6 CPD's and then finally a few hardy shrimp (RCS?). If things are looking good I may add a dario dario or a small killifish.