The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Today a friend offered me a used Fluval 305 for only $25. I would like to use it on my 20 gallon long. I'm only a couple months into this hobby and I have no experience with canister filters.

What type of filter media should I use?
Anything else I should know before setting up?

·
Registered
115 Posts
Fluval

THat's a pretty freakin' good deal if all the parts are there and then, even if they're not, replacements are not too hard to get. A 305 usually retails $150+ in a store. I have a 405 and I love it :proud: - it's overkill on my 29G and really moves the water and mine is dialed down - the fish seems to like it though. Just make sure your plants are secure. You can buy media for it - it has 3 baskets divided into halves so you can have many combos of media. Carbon, biofilter ceramic (?) tubes, ammonia neutralizer, etc.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
THat's a pretty freakin' good deal if all the parts are there and then, even if they're not, replacements are not too hard to get. A 305 usually retails $150+ in a store. I have a 405 and I love it :proud: - it's overkill on my 29G and really moves the water and mine is dialed down - the fish seems to like it though. Just make sure your plants are secure. You can buy media for it - it has 3 baskets divided into halves so you can have many combos of media. Carbon, biofilter ceramic (?) tubes, ammonia neutralizer, etc.
Yea I'm lucky that he's had it sitting around for a while, and just wants to get rid of it. It has all the parts and after a good cleaning it's ready to go. All i need to do is buy the filter media.

I was thinking of starting with bio filter and carbon. Any thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
12,011 Posts