The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie in the midst of a fierce ALGAE WAR. Please help save my 2.5 gallon tank!

I'm about to redo my tank, putting in action all the stuff I've learned from this website over the past six weeks. I hear that floating plants, that soak up nutrients from the water column, can help combat algae. Which plant(s) would you recommend?

I'll try anything. Even duckweed, if it works--although I've heard once you've got duckweed, it's pretty much impossible to get rid of.

Also, has anyone had any luck with barley straw--or whatever that stuff is I've heard mention of--in a nano tank?

Thanks, Scott.

·
Registered
803 Posts
Listing your setup details would be most helpful. Are you using any lighting (how much, how long and what kind)? Are you fertilizing ~ if so with what, and again how much and how often? Tank inhabitants, how much you feed them, how heavily planted is your tank, how long it's been set up, water test results, CO2, etc.

If this is a new tank, it might simply be "new tank syndrome" and will pass once beneficial bacteria grow in. If it's not, then listing all the details will help others more experienced than me (I'm a newbie, too) help diagnose your problem.

As for barley straw, that's something that some pond keepers swear by. Some say there's something in the straw that combats algae. I think it's just the extra surface area that helps ~ more area for more beneficial bacteria to colonize means more crap filtered and clearer water. I did the same thing once with a huge wad of plastic orange "snow fence" barrier stuff ~ just wadded it up and sunk it in the bottom of my pond. Green water turned clear in half the time it normally does. And there wasn't anything rotting away in my pond that I'd have to clean up later.

·
Registered
754 Posts