The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m 2 weeks into my fishless cycle and I feel like I am not getting the expected spikes. I may be too impatient, or doing something wrong. Since this is my first time really watching the cycle since it is my first serious tank, I am hoping some people here with much more experience than me can help me out.

Tank Info:
Substrate: ADA Aquasoil
Plants: I would say medium planted, not filled in, 1 week of cycle lightly planted, 1 week with the rest.
Livestock: No live stock
Co2: DIY co2, but having issues with it
Filter: Canister filter (kind of, integrated with the tank since I built it, doesn't fully have foam yet)
Ferts: Dosing excel for the last 4 days, since I had co2 problems

Water:
I am filling and using tap water, it is well water not city. Not copper Pipes, my testing of straight tap water shows nothing crazy parameter wise

Issues I am Experiencing:
1) Having problems with plants, I am hoping it is just melt from getting adjusted to new tank but it is too early for most of the plants to tell. Dwarf hair-grass is doing well and its only medium(ish) light but we will see how they rooted and spread. Pretty sure I have algae, but I am researching type and if it really is tonight.
2) The problem I am worrying about is that I haven't seen the nitrate/nitrite spikes.

Water Parameters:
PH: Going crazy ranging between low 6.2-7.4 but I am saying the cause of this is the diy co2 problems I have experienced combined with my driftwood releasing less tannins as it becomes water logged.
Ammonia: Slowly going down, spike at 1+ now is at .5ppm.
Nitrates/Nitrites: Nitrates and Nitrites are always at 0, I thought I should expect a spike of them with the lowering of ammonia but I am not.

Areas Which I think I might be doing something wrong:
1) I keep muddying up the water moving aquasoil around so I change out the water