The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the past week I've had two Balas sharks, two tetras and a guppy die in the past week and I don't know why

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No I have not tested the water. The tank is two years old. It's weird cause one day the fish is living and the next day no traces of him. Body and everything gone

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay I will do. Filter media gets changed every three weeks and the filters get a complete cleaning about every two months. I have no top on my tank so the water evaporates pretty fast and I just refill it with a 5 gal bucket. I would say 20% of the water gets evaporated and replaced every week

·
Registered
588 Posts
Changing the filter media? I am no pro but wouldn't this mean your tank would than be uncycled?
+1 on this. Depending on your setup, you are probably sending your tank into mini-cycles.

You should be testing your water weekly. If you can't get a kit, take a sample of water to a LFS. Most will do a test for free. Even if it is a chain store using just the test strips, it is worth it to know.

20% is a lot of evaporation.

Tank size?
Filter brand/model?
Heater?
Actual temp?
Substrate?
Plants/Fish?

·
Registered
699 Posts
Okay I will do. Filter media gets changed every three weeks and the filters get a complete cleaning about every two months. I have no top on my tank so the water evaporates pretty fast and I just refill it with a 5 gal bucket. I would say 20% of the water gets evaporated and replaced every week
You have no top on your tank and your fish disappeared completely. 1+1= they are now floor jerky.

·
Registered
85 Posts