The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I've had a few 10 gallon tanks with moderate success and one 32 gallon tank that lasted a year before a new fish snuck one hell of a parasite into my tank that bent all my fish in half seemingly overnight (I even quarantined the carrier for a week and he showed no signs of illness but upon introduction to my community tank the parasite attacked).
In the 32 gallon tank I had 5 zebra danios, 7 cardinal tetras, 4 bloodfin tetras, a dwarf gourami, a small pleco (wrong tank size, I know), and a few ghost catfish. I'm not very experienced outside of basic beginner fish and I'm wanting to get a 55 gallon planted tank going. I know what kinds of fish I'd like to get but I'm not sure how many would be too many or how well they'd get along (the extra cover provided by the plants gives me hope that fin nippers and fins may get along somewhat).

These are the fish I'm interested in and would greatly appreciate it if more experienced individuals can help me out.

Beckford's Pencilfish
Bloodfin Tetra
Cherry Barb
Coral Red Pencilfish
Red-striped Killifish
Red Line Torpedo Barb
Red Lizard Whiptail Plecostomus
Sparkling Gourami (I'm fairly certain these guys aren't going to be compatible, but a man can dream..)

Anyways thanks in advance guys!

·
Registered
184 Posts
You should try playing with this, it is nice because you can try different combos of fish if your first choices aren't compatible. I had no idea what your filtration was and they don't have 32 gallon so I selected 30. You need a minimum of 5 of all the smaller fish, and the Pleco is too big plus I think that is too many fish for a 30 gallono after uping all the schooling fish to 5 each. Check it out for yourself.
http://www.aqadvisor.com/AqAdvisor....AqSpeciesWindowSize=short&AqSearchMode=simple

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3