The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm a complete noob when it comes to planted tanks and scaping anything. I'm trying a dry start method to get a carpet going but I may have put a little too much water in to start - I'm probably doing a million things wrong here haha. So here's what I've set up the past couple of days:
http://i.imgur.com/UXfFvqr.jpg

A couple of things -

1. I know some people don't like backgrounds and this one in particular doens't exactly match the look I was going for. I'll probably take it down.

2. I really like the idea of having an arch. I want to keep it and I think I've got it in a spot that I like

3. I don't think that it's "perfect" with the rule of thirds and such but I wanted to make sure the tank wouldn't be empty looking.

4. I wanted to have sort of a "path" going through the arch.

5. Last night I added some substrate to help bury the wood and add some depth by sloping towards the back

I guess what I'd like to know is, is there anything else I could do to make it look better? I suppose it's entirely up to me what I like or don't like, I just feel like something is "missing".

·
Registered
124 Posts
IMHO, it needs a bit more slope at the back edges. And of course, that background is a bit... out of place. To say the least.

I think once it fills it it will look great. Small crypt species such as wendtii green or green gecko, parva, willisii, petchii, and others would look great in the corners or coming out from around the wood, and the wood would be accented really well by small anubias like nana 'petite' on their bottom halves.

·
Registered
691 Posts
"1. I know some people don't like backgrounds and this one in particular doens't exactly match the look I was going for. I'll probably take it down."

I agree not a fan of this background. Its disjointed with your aquascape.