The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! This is my first time owning any kind of aquatic life and I bought a 6 gallon planted tank about a month ago. For now, I have some basic plants and decor as well as a nerite snail. I’m planning to later add some cherry shrimp + java moss and then a male betta. I guess I’m looking for any kind of advice anyone can give on aquascaping/fish care. I do a water change about every week and leave an aqueon planted tank light for 8 hours a day. I’m not too sure on my plant arrangement and stocking since I’m new to this, so if there’s any way I can make my tank better, do share!

·
Registered
306 Posts
Great start, and I applaud your patience with waiting on stocking! If you can, allow your plants to grow in a bit more and/or add more plants before adding shrimp, Allow them to get comfortable and established before adding a betta. That way, if he has more of a predatory personality, they will have more of a chance to avoid getting eaten (if that becomes an issue). A nice portion of java moss will give the shrimp more security, and also provide a lot of surface area for biofilm

Reactions: Plinkploop

·
Registered
75g, 33L, 2g and play tanks
404 Posts