The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I would like to say thanks to both Kevmo911 and Jeffkrol, they helped me greatly when it came to selecting items for my co2 setup.

I have had several years experience in reef tanks but due to the pain of water changes and mainly moving I was forced to sell my tank. (Date is off)

I learned a fair amount and honestly the biggest lesson learned was to plan ahead. (Something I still some what lacked in this new planted build) . I have always had an interest in bonsai yet due to the nature of floridas weather all of the various maples I enjoyed were not ideal for our weather.

*Equipment*

• Tank: ADA Mini M (Garden Mat)

Lighting: ADA Aquasky Moon 361

Filtration: Eheim 2217, US Plastics reducer elbows, VIV Lily pipes
    Co2: 5lb Co2, Air Gas E12-215D Regulator, Parker Metering Valve 2F-H3L-V-SS-TC HR, Swagelok SS fittings, Fluval 88g-CO2 Bubble Counter, NAG Diffuser (also purchased was the Music Glass bubble counter but the quality was low so I went with the fluval plastic counter), ADA co2 line / check valve.

Opted to not use a reef keeper / or Aqua controller apex so I am using a power strip with a GE mechanical timer.

Parameters: Testing will be done via a Hach HQ411d for PH, Hach SL1000 for Ammonia / Chlorine / DO. Hach 2100N Turbidity / Color. HK Aquarium drop checker just to keep an eye on things.

The lily pipes are of decent quality however I find them a little large for my application, also they do not come with any kind of "holder" so you are at the whim of trying to straighten your tubing as much as a possible. The Bubble counter kept having water drop through it a bit before I could turn on the co2, even once I set it the area to count bubble was probably around 1/4 of an inch. I am happy with the cheap fluval 4 dollar bubble counter as of now.

I decided to keep the plants minimal:

Rotala Rotundifolia 'Green'
Eleocharis sp. "Mini"