The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, I am new to ThePlantedTank and have some questions I hope someone can help me answer. Bear with me, but this is my scenario...I am 3 months away from setting up my first planted tank aquascape because i will be moving into a new apartment. I have been in the hobby for a few years but never planted before. In the meantime I would like to start growing some potted plants in order to have something to start with rather than having to buy everything upfront when I move. I have a Marineland Penguin 350 filter and a Coralife HO T5 light fixture, and no CO2 as i want to have a low-tech tank. This week I would like to remove my current crushed coral substrate as well as the decorations (driftwood/rocks) and keep just some potted plants. When I take everything out I am planning on fully cleaning the inside walls and want to clean the filter intake because they currently have a little of what i believe to be Black Brush Algae growing on it (short black hairs which can only be removed off the glass by razor). I am scared the BBA will carry over to the tank when i re-do it all which is why i want to get rid of it all now. How can i go about getting it off the plastic filter parts??? Also should i bleach and clean the driftwood incase it made its way onto it as well?

Sorry for writing so much but this is my first post and wanted to give you all the facts. Please help, i appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Welcome. I hope you find this forum to be as informative and friendly as I have!

I would do a bleach dip on the filter parts. 20 parts water to 1 part bleach. Let it soak for 10 to 20 minutes, rinse really really well, and place them in a bucket of water with 3xs the dosage amount of DeChlor for a day or two. And then I usually rinse it again.