The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, I just made my account, but I have no doubt already been all up in and throughout this forum the last couple months. I’m new to the hobby, and like many of my hobbies and interests, I went from 0 - 100 real quick. I already have a CO2 setup and triple needle valve regulator and two soon to be three planted aquariums- 55gal and two nano 5.5gal.

Anyways, my question is this: overnight my ph in my 55gal and 5.5gal have gone from 6.9 and 6.8 respectively to 7.8 and 8.0. This is just before my CO2 bottle turned on and 1/2hr before my lights. in the 55 I had used seachem neutral regulator a couple water changes ago before going CO2 injected and I think that’s why it’s maintained a lower ph through the night. Should I use more in both tanks to keep the ph steadier for fish or maybe an alkalinity buffer?

In the large aquarium I house mostly tropical fish: 12 cardinals, 10 Cory cats, 1 dwarf gourami, 1 GBR. There happen to be two red neon badis which got sent to me on accident but seem to be fine in the community and lastly 5 Dalmatian mollies. It is what I’d consider “mediumly planted” soon to be heavy after I let everything overgrow and propagate it out.

I am a little more worried though of my 5.5 beta tank. Mr. Cancun is swimming in a ph of 8 right now and I can’t imagine he’s too happy, though he did build a beautiful bubble nest overnight.

Should I be worried of the higher ph at night or is all well?

Should I be worried of mid 6.x ph in the day to reach optimal CO2 levels?

Sorry for long post I’m kind of looking for any advice about my setup. Oh kH measures 7.5 - 55gal and 7 - 5.5gal.

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
pH swings from CO2 are harmless to fish / livestock as you are forming a weak acid and not altering any mineral contents or osmotic pressure.