The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there fellas!

So I wanted to share my 40 gallon breeder, high tech planted tank and it's progress in the hope to get some advice as I'm rather new to the hobby (almost a year now). Especially the whole nutrient dosing thing, and knowing how to spot deficiencies etc (I have done LOTS of research though).
So I basically set this tank up at the very end of April (I believe it was the 28th), after deciding to upgrade from my 20L that I've had for over 6 months at that point. I had done some research and found out about dirted tanks and decided I'd give it a try, especially since I'm all about having the most natural environment possible for my tank (a little more natural than say flourite or any other kind of substrate, although I did have to cap my tank with a little eco complete).
Here are some pics of the initial setup, I had not decided on my lighting choice and was still running the 3x23w cfl's I had over my 20L :

After about a week I finally got my hands on a 36" 24/7 Finnex Planted Plus as well as a Co2 regulator, adapter, paintball co2 cannister. Quickly started my first trimmings as some of the plants were new and had to adjust to submerged conditions. I have been dosing daily with Flourish Excel and maybe once or twice a week with Flourish.
So far, here are the plants I have bought knowing the species : Hemianthus Callitrichoides, Eleocharis Parvula, Eleocharis sp. mini, Lysimachia nummularia, Alternanthera Reineckii, Java moss, Java fern, Pogostemon Erectus, Echinodorus Tenellus,.
And here are the species that I think I have identified but were not sold with any label : Bacopa caroliniana, Rotala rotundifolia, Ludwigia repens.
I have yet to identify exactly what type of swords I have (the 2 you can see on the pic, the giant one and the small one).