The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, i have been reading on this forum for the past couple weeks and it was about time to register. Im new to aquariums and through this site I have learned alot and it has shown me some crazy aquascape which encourage me to make one myself.

this is my first tank ever which hopefully stays low budget :icon_bigg
10 gallon halfmoon tank
with java ferns, java moss, Malaysian driftwood and some pebbles i have found around my neighbourhood.
I have 4 guppies, 2 ballon molly, 1 betta, 3 tetras and 3 cory cat fish all happly living in my tank.

here is my set up with the diy co2

tried to mimic a cave

·
Registered
2,245 Posts
nice I like it, that driftwood is pretty cool and the cave looks good.

I'm surprised the betta gets along with the guppies and mollies. If they don't work out you should consider trying more neon tetras since they are schooling a few more than 3 would be better.

next time you rescape you may want to consider getting a natural color pea gravel and replace the blue gravel. I think natural pea gravel would look better with those nice pebbles.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was also surprised that my betta is very friendly and peaceful, i did have 6 neon but 3 of them died as they were my cycling fish :(

I didn't plan to get blue gravel but when i started up my fish tank it was the cheapest one and i regret it now. this is why there is a excessive amount of rocks and pebbles to cove the ugly blue gravel.

·
Registered
374 Posts
next time you rescape you may want to consider getting a natural color pea gravel and replace the blue gravel. I think natural pea gravel would look better with those nice pebbles.
+1... those pebbles have a such a great look in conjunction with the driftwood, it kills me to see the blue underneath it, lol.