The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I hope I can get some advice on my tank. I am not sure if this is the right place to post, but since I am not planning to add a CO system to the tank, I would like to solve this problem with low tech solutions. I am new to this hobby and I need all the help I can get. I set up my tank on 9/10/11, almost 4 weeks ago, and I didn't know anything about cycling the tank before adding fish so I started the tank with some fish that were given to me by a friend. The tank is not fully planted, but it has a lot of plants (about 50% covered) and they have grown very large since I put them in, so I guess they are doing well. The problem is that two days ago I started to see brown/red spots in the aquarium. After doing some reading I believe it might be diatoms. Am I doing something wrong? Too much/little light? Not enough CO2? I don't want this ugly algae to take over my tank!

Here is the information about the tank:
-75 gallon tank
-substrate: fluorite and eco-complete (3-6 inches) in most of the tank with some regular substrate in the front where I don't want any plants
-lights: coralife freshwater 48 inch (came with the tank). It has two T5NO bulbs with only 28 watts each (2 bulbs). I was told that was too little for a tank this size and bought a Nova Extreme 48". This came with two T5HO of 54 watts each. I have the two lights on the tank (4 T5 bulbs, 164 watts in total). For how long should I leave them on? Should I alternate? I am not at home during the day, so a complicated schedule will not work. Could this be the problem with the new algae?
-Plants: I am not sure about the name of all the plants, but it is not fully planted. All the plants are doing well, except for the dwarf hairgrass. I have one goldfish and he keeps pulling the grass out!
-Filters: 2 AquaClear 500. I left the carbon insert out and I am only using the sponges.