The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at a planted tank. It's a 55gallon low-tech tank. Shop light inside the DIY hood contains two 32w Philips daylight deluxe tubes. No CO2 injection. No macro fert. Some micro fert with FloraPride. No water changes unless absolutely necessary.

I'm using the penguin filter I had laying around. Took the bio-wheel out. Replaced the cartridge with DIY foam. No activated carbon. Yes Purigen.

A bit overstocked with 4 angels, 4 pearls, 6 cories, 14 neons.

DIY glass covers... look familiar?

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/diy/42194-sliding-glass-top-how.html
Thanks DiabloCanine!

Close up of the planted side

I aimed for the cories but got the crypt instead, oops

The big picture

·
Banned
560 Posts
You need more plants.I will give you some x-moss for your wood if you do a 10% w.c. to bring levels back in line alittle. I can see brown algae forming on the rocks-a sure sign a w.c. is needed IME.

Also the purigen does removes trace elements just so you know FWIW

·
Registered
66 Posts
hmm, i quite like the simplicity of it though for sure =) a little more color would be great

·
Registered
3,647 Posts
You need more plants.I will give you some x-moss for your wood if you do a 10% w.c. to bring levels back in line alittle. I can see brown algae forming on the rocks-a sure sign a w.c. is needed IME.

Also the purigen does removes trace elements just so you know FWIW
Or you can believe what Seachem says about its product vs internet rumor.
Purigen

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I added the neons first then the juvenile angels in hopes they won't see them as food. I definitely need to find another home for the angels before the neons start disappearing.