The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I'm very new to this forum. As a matter a fact I'm new to keep actually planted aquariums. I have a 75 gallon south American cichlid tank at the head of my bed, lightly planted 55gal community tank and a 10 gal. I'm planing on a 2.5 or maybe a 5.5 planted tank but I've been confronted with a few problems. First one is I don't want to sPend 20$ on substrate if I'm only using a little bit of it. I'm only 16 and don't have cash burning through my pockets. Second is I don't know what to do for a filter or I'd I need one. Lastly if you have a suggestion for plants that would be great.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
2.5g Tank -- $10-15
5lb CaribSea Tahitian Moon Sand -- $4-8
Red Sea Nano Filter
-- $10-18
Fluval Edge PreFilter Sponge -- $3
DIY yeast co2 -- $5
Light -- $5-20

Just a small breakdown of what you could be looking at to spend. Low tech is the way to go IMO if you want to stay on the cheaper side. For plants, look at the swap&shop of our forum. You will find deals that are alot cheaper than what your petstore could offer. As for plants, here's a list of my favorite ones:
- Moss [Fissidens looks best and cleanest IMO]
- Java fern [trident, philippine, windelov]
- Crypts
- Blyxa
- Anubias nana

Blyxa and depending on what crypt you get, are the most demanding out of the list. The rest are your typical low tech tank list.

·
Registered
16 Posts
You could throw some anacharis in there too... that stuff will grow with the lights out and its readily available at most petsmart's and petco's. When it gets too tall, just cut it in half and replant the tops. 4-5 stems is like $2.50 I think.

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
If you want easy I would definitely go with java moss, java fern and the anubias nana for a 2.5g. With those you won't really have to worry about a super rich substrate.