The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am doing research to set up my first planted aquarium and I am researching lights. I am stuck between two lights and would like to get thoughts from more experienced aquarists. I'm looking at the Finnex Planted+ clip on and the Hygger 14w 24/7. I like that the Hygger has the 24 hour timer, but I like the look of the clip on light better. I do have a timer I'd put the Finnex on. I'm hoping to get some feed back on which light is better for growing plants and which one will last longer, that sort of thing. I am completely new to planted tanks and I'm trying to learn as much as I can before I buy anything. I'll be getting a 5 gallon rimless aqueon with a lid and I would like to try low to medium light plants in a low tech setup. Any help/advice is appreciated!

I forgot! Here's the link for the hygger light I'm looking at: Amazon.com: hygger 14W 24/7 Lighting Aquarium LED Light, Sunrise-Daylight-Moonlight Mode and DIY Mode, Adjustable Timer Adjustable Brightness Fish Tank Light with Extendable Bracket 7 Colors for Planted Tank: Home Improvement

·
Registered
22 Posts
What's your budget like? I highly recommend this specific article and this website as a whole for planted tank knowledge: The best LED units for planted tanks in 2021. It was started by a professional aquascaper Dennis Wong. Basically though, you'll want to know the PAR for the light.
PAR is the measurement that is currently best for judging how much light you need. PAR stands for photosynthetic active radiation; it refers to the specific amount of light a plant will receive at difference distances from the light. You can find the PAR for most commercial brands by googling. Many even have the info in the attributes/specification details of their lights.

Low light plants: Anything from 10-30 PAR

Medium light plants: 30-50 PAR