The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just revently started planting my 29g tank. i just put in a new substrate, the Eco Complete Planted Tank substrate. it looks promising and i have heard good things. i have planted Amazon Sword (3), and Water Sprite (3). i was just wondering if any fertilizer is necissary to start at this point. its only been about 2 weeks since i planted the tank. what do you think?

·
Registered
199 Posts
Hello rk923, I'm a noob here as well... just started planting bout 3-4 weeks now. and Ed is right, bout Flourish, it works good. I'm using fine gravel for my tank (since I already had it setup for years), so I'm using the undergravel tabs as well as Liquid Flourish. and I already see the difference in a week! I'd recommend just da liquid one for your's since u already got good substrate... good luck. :thumbsup:

Seachem "Flourish Tabs" (Gravel Bed Supplement for Planted Aquarium)
Seachem "Flourish" (Comprehensive Supplement for the Planted Aquarium)

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
You'll also need to add some Excel once in awhile for C02 but that should be good enough for your first tank. I'd really consider buying allot more plants for a 29 than six, it's just not enough you'll need about 10x more than that to get the tank up and going quickly and without lots of algae.

- Brad

·
Registered
199 Posts
You'll also need to add some Excel once in awhile for C02 but that should be good enough for your first tank. I'd really consider buying allot more plants for a 29 than six, it's just not enough you'll need about 10x more than that to get the tank up and going quickly and without lots of algae.

- Brad
Hello Brad, is that sub for CO2 injection?!?! does it actually adds CO2 to ur tank? and says recommended for daily use, or every other day... wow, that'll get bit pricey!!! :icon_roll

·
Registered
1,157 Posts