The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought 5 pots of Micro sword (along with amazon sword in pot, and some moneywort lead bunches)
The micro sword arrived pretty weak/melted and with only a few blades per pot, it doesn't look substantial enough to split apart and start a carpet in my 55G tank so I'd like to revive them and grow out to a healthier bush before separating them. What is the best approach for that?

I'm new to planted tanks, but I'm inclined to put a root tab in each pot since I think I need to do water changes, however I'm not sure if that is too much fertilizer for a Micro Sword pot, or if multiple tabs are an issue when combined in a 2gal container.
I'm assuming these were emersed, and hoping this is a result of transitioning to submersed.

Notes:
They just arrived and are currently sitting in a separate 2 gallon quarantine container.
For fertilizer I have access to both 'Easy Tabs' and 'Easy Green Liquid All-in one' from Aquarium Co-op.
( my plants were not purchased from there, so the poor plant condition should not be associated with them)
For lighting I currently have a clamp-light sitting over it with regular 60w bulb, on a 12 hour timer. (basement, so not much natural light)
I have CO2 available in the 55G tank which I just set up and planning to use, it is cycled but barely stocked.
Thus I can remove all livestock to put in my other tank, and grow out in 55G if it is a better approach.
(Which i was considering anyway to give it time to root, or to treat algae issues if that becomes a problem while carpet is growing)
I can also take the CO2 from 55G and set it up and use for the quarantine container. (seems extreme)

Questions:
  1. Suggested approach to fertilizing?
  2. Is water change necessary? how often?
  3. CO2 useful? (or perhaps a Liquid alternative if not already provided by the ferts?)
  4. Should i change type of lighting or increase time to 18 or 24 hours?