The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Started dosing pps pro last week. All of my plants took off. I am using co2 and the lights are set at 8 hrs after a NBA outbreak that wiped out my tank. I have 2 t5HO. And a 60g tank. Should I cut back on the fertilizers or change up the mixture this is what I'm getting on my plants

Attachments

·
Registered
79 Posts
I am no expert but as I started dosing ferts and adding co2 I noticed the algae in my tank disappear. I am using dry ferts dosing EI method. I am using yeast and sugar mix to produce co2. As plant mass increases then it should out compete algae for nutrients.

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
I would leave dosing as is if new growth is good, and pluck off the lower leaves that exhibit that which was in the photo.
If you begin losing lower leaves on several species,then this might lead me to believe the CO2 is not being distributed to lower region long enough, and plant's are sacrificing the lower leaves for the sake of newer leaves higher on the plant's ,and higher in the water where CO2 is greater. (just my opinion).
Would try and aim power head or spray bar in such a way as to force the CO2 down lower for longer than is currently happening.
The gas want's to rise up and out of the tank's nearly as fast as it's injected if no measures to prevent it are taking place.(need good flow to all area's)
Starting CO2 injection and hour to three hour's before light's on would be another option I might consider.
Would leave light's and dosing as is for now, and focus on good CO2 management.
Plant's do not need as much light as we sometimes presume, and if nutrient's are consistently applied at suitable % then only leaves CO2 to get right.

·
Registered
242 Posts
New growth looks fine. Mostly lower leaves on plants developing this. Polygonum and ludwigia look the worst.