The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All right I'd like to get your opinions about dosing ferts and excel. Here's my setup

Standard 55g. USA sat+ 48" light.
Black sand substrate
4 albino Cory's
2 spotted cory
2 julli cory
6 zebra danio
6 odessa barb
7 neon tetra
4 sunburst plat ties
4 amino shrimp

I'll say I have a medium to low planted tank. I'm just starting out so I'm sure over time I'll have more plants. Mostly root feeders but have one Anubis and one java fern on driftwood. Will eventually get some moss.

Currently I dose excel and iron daily and flourish comp every two or three days. Also use root tabs.

My question is with this amount of livestock should I still consider ei or pps pro? Should I be concerned about not enough co2 with just a capful of excel daily?

Basically I want low tech plant growth to be decent but do not want to go over or under board.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
588 Posts
Imo you are adding too many ferts for a non co2 tank. Especially the iron in the water column. If you have root feeders, you shouldn't really need to dose the column too much, root tabs should be plenty with an occasional comp dose after water changes. That's just my opinion and I run only low tech, so I'm sure some of the other members may be able to give more insight, but from experience, I would say you're almost asking for an algae bloom of some kind.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've been wondering about the algae issue popping up eventually. Since I've changed out my substrate and cleaned my tank good I haven't had any algae Plus now that I have the sat+ light I'm not using my timer because I like going thru my phases and playing with the light

How will this much talked about algae bloom occur? Will I just wake up one morning to a green tank or will it slowly manifest itself?

·
Registered
588 Posts