1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
29 Posts
I was using my Rena Filstar XP2 long before I considered CO2 injection. I can fit more media inside my canister filter than will fit in most (if not all) HOB's and I can put more variety of media inside it. It's quieter than the HOB I had, and it doesn't let the water roll right over top of the filter media like my old HOB did. I also get more choice of placement for the input and output lines.

Jon

·
Registered
5 Posts
I'm pretty new to this game too and after spending countless hours on countless websites I knew I definatly wanted a canister filter and after consulting several sales clerks and forum groupies, I was told that the Rena's are a great product for the money. So I got the XP3 and I love it! It is so easy to clean and service, it works wonderfully. I clean and service my filter on a regular basis just because it is sooo easy, so planted tank or not, go with one of the Rena's for sure!

·
Registered
842 Posts
I only converted to canisters when I started adding CO2.
Otherwise HOBs are fine.
If you were buying new eqipment for a new tank I would tell you to go canister, but if you already have the HOBs I don't really see the benefit of spending extra money on a canister if you're not going to power an inline CO2 reactor.

·
Banned
3,297 Posts
Bean thanks for posting that coupon!
I was about to buy an XP2, but with
your coupon I can buy the XP3 for
only $5 more! & coupon is still valid.

BTW: the SAVEMAY coupon gives
you $10 off and still free ship >$50

-the bums charged me sales tax :angryfire

·
Registered
194 Posts
canisyer filters