The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was planning on adding an in-line reactor to a new 70 gallon setup. I will be getting an Eheim 2126 and was thinking of getting something like the external Aqua Media Reactor 1000. I have seen others who have built their own external in-line reactors, but I don't have those skills. This reactor calls for a 250 gph rate so the 2126 should be OK. Since I am new to this, my question is do I just install this reactor under the tank next to the pump and run a hose from the pump to the reactor and then from the reactor back into the tank? I know I need to hook up the CO2, of course, but any help on exactly how to set an external in-line reactor would be most appreciated!

I just found some info on this at "The Planted Tank FAQ" Great pictures and info, listed as "How to set a CO2 system." This is a great site! Still wonder if the 1000 is too big and if that would have any effect on anything.

·
Registered
673 Posts
if you run the DIY reactor, there should be a hose barb for the CO2 and this is same for the 1000 except I believe there is one for vent. I bought and sold mine 1000 because I thought it was a bit bulky. Anyway, either one whether you are using 1000 or DIY, take the outflow of one end and connect to the inlet of reactor and another hose to catch the end that is coming out and back to your tank.

·
Registered
93 Posts
A couple words of advice that you can take with a grain of salt if you want...

I have an AM1000 hooked up to a 2128 under a 75 gal. After about a year of operation, I found that I needed more filtration and added a 2126 without anything inline. What I would recommend if you haven't already bought the filter is step up to the 2128 for the improved flow with the reactor inline. Planted tanks usually need a lot of filtration!

If you already bought the filter, then you can add a cheap powerhead later if you find you want more circulation.