The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got myself a new drop checker. One less thing in the tank! I hope it's accurate. One issue is that the smaller surface area might cause this to change color a lot slower than a regular drop checker. But I already know my levels, so I don't need a reading every day. If anyone has used one of these before, pls let me know what you've thought of it so far. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,126 Posts
Don't you get lots of condensation in those when there is a large temperature differential between temps inside and outside the tank?

I have no experience with these but I would think there would be a bigger condensation issue with the tank itself. The drop checker water should be somewhere between room temp and tank temp.

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@Nordic @Kubla The room and tank temp are both 78 F, but I actually did notice a bit of condensation within the drop checker this morning. I guess I'll keep an eye on this and report any flaws w/ this little thing. One thing I'm happy about is not having a huge drop checker in my tank. (Huge because this tank is < 10 gallons.)

·
Registered
4,032 Posts
I just don't get why people always slap the thing straight in the middle of the sides, if I were to bother with one, I'd stick it in a corner in the back somewhere, where I can see it if I look for it.

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I just don't get why people always slap the thing straight in the middle of the sides, if I were to bother with one, I'd stick it in a corner in the back somewhere, where I can see it if I look for it.
That works for a bigger tank where you can pretty much put things anywhere you please. For a nano tank, it blocks plants and light towards the back, so the middle of the side is the only choice (depending on your scape). Room is very limited and valuable in a nano.