The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!
I just got my macros and micros(csm+b and iron) for EI dosing. I'm completely new to doing dry ferts but I know that I need to alternate micros and macros with a 50% water change weekly.
I have gone over several EI dosing calculators and know the numbers, thing is.. I don't have measuring spoons or scale small enough to measure out anything smaller then 1g.
I wanted to make a solution with RO water, so I don't have to measure out everyday, but I'm not sure of the exact measurements for each fertilizer or how much to dose per day. Found this website, but it's missing iron and a macro fertilizer. But overall does it seem right?
http://www.thenutrientcompany.com/aquarium/calculators/

That being said I have a 20 gallon heavily planted tank with high lights.

Any help with this topic would be amazing, thank you so much guys!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
CSM+B & Iron are just micro fertilizers, Macros are N-P-K: Nitrogen-Phosphates-Potassium. And yes you want alternate days for EI dosing, here's my EI dosing schedule...

Mon - Weds - Fri - Macro fertilizers
Tues - Thurs - Sat - Micro fertilizers
Sun - 50% Water change and cleaning the glass

As for a dosing calculator - http://calc.petalphile.com/

I use that calculator, and it has everything micros, macros, etc....

I use a 100g-.0001g digital scale to measure out exact amounts of each fertilizer, I got my scales off e-b-a-y for a like $5-$10.

Then I got my measuring spoons from amazon.com - Amazon.com: Norpro 3080 Mini Measuring Spoons, 5 Piece Set: Kitchen & Dining

·
Premium Member
415 Posts
Thanks for the quick response!
I know of the dosing calculator, but I really don't have the equipment to measure out that small of doses. Is there a way I can make a solution with RO water and macros/micros that will last several weeks for easy daily dosing?