The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now, I’ve been using these filters for several years now. Generally, users who write reviews of filters do so at the initial purchase and set-up stage. While this is fine, I think that the difference between a good filter and bad filter is above all how it performs over time. Ideally, a long, long time – in which you don’t properly clean it, or maintain it, or replace the parts, or use the correct media, or look after it at all. Happily, I’ve been maintaining these very conditions (purely for scientific purposes, of course) for quite a while now . In addition, I’ve only ever acquired second-hand versions that have already taken some abuse, so I’ve learnt to fix most of the problems associated with them.

So on to the review. The first and last thing that needs to be said about Classics is that they are very reliable. There are three reasons for this.

Eheims are famously made in Germany. I understand that the canister itself is now made in China for the Classic series, but since that’s really just a transparent green bucket I don’t view that as overly important. The reason why things made in Germany are good is not because of their proximity to all that delicious sausage and senf, it’s because German quality control and manufacturing standards are generally insane. I mean, in a really over the top, you-can’t-buy-a-toothbrush-that-hasn’t-been-tested-thirty-times-in-a-wind-tunnel sort of insane. Well, I’m exaggerating, but you get the idea.