The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I woke up this morning and my Eheim 2217 just stopped working. It was fine last night and has been working fine for the 6 months or so that I've had it (did have some priming issues when I first got it, but I think it's just because I'm a total noob when it comes to these things).

There is slight vibration noise coming from the motor, but nothing is happening.

Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
So I woke up this morning and my Eheim 2217 just stopped working. It was fine last night and has been working fine for the 6 months or so that I've had it (did have some priming issues when I first got it, but I think it's just because I'm a total noob when it comes to these things).

There is slight vibration noise coming from the motor, but nothing is happening.

Any help is appreciated!
I think the only way you'll know for sure is to disassemble it and see what has happened.

I know after 6 months or so mine will slow down dramatically. 6 months is about as long as I let mine go before I do maintenance.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Close the disconnect valves, and separate them. Carry the canister to someplace where you can take the top off. Turn the top over and remove the cover over the impeller.
Guessing that something is blocking the passage of water through the impeller, or possibly preventing the impeller from turning.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I haven't really done any maintenance on it yet because I was told not to until I see some decrease in water pressure, haven't seen any yet.

I will check the impeller and get back to you.

Thanks.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So I opened it up to take a look at the impeller. There wasn't really anything blocking it but thought I'd give it a rinse anyway.