The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to planted tanks and I am looking for foreground plants that are not too hard to grow for beginners. Here are my tank specs:

-38 gallon tank
-2x39w T5HO with one Zoo Med Flora Sun bulb and one Coralife Colormax Freshwater bulb
-no CO2 yet, but plant to complete my CO2 system in the next two weeks: in the meantime, I am dosing with Flourish Excel
-the only ferts I am currently using are Flourish Comprehensive and Jungle Labs Fertilizer 0-0-5

Any recommendations for hardy (read: indestructible) foreground plants would be great. Thanks!

·
Registered
745 Posts
glosso would work...he said hes getting CO2 within 2wks
dwarf sag would work and would be the easiest (read: indestructible)
DHG would work

but you need complete ferts (macro and micro) what youre dosing is incomplete -micros with a pinch of macros mixed in

·
Premium Member
2,556 Posts
Staurogyne porto velho is by far my favorite foreground. Very algaeproof and easy to grow albeit slowly.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks to everyone for your replies. I cannot find any of these recommendations at my LFS or the big box pet stores right now. Should I try to order some of these, or are there some options that are more common than these that would be good for my tank?

·
Registered
233 Posts
Dwarf Hairgrass works well for me. I got all my plants shipped to me ... check out aquabid.com.

·
Registered
815 Posts
I second dwarf sag as well, along with downoi (though those get bigger), my tank is without co2 or excel, and both of they stay alive, the dwarf sag grows super slow, the downoi grows faster.

·
Registered
689 Posts