The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
20g aquarium with beginner plants and fish.
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I’m going to make my second 20g aquarium and I would like this one to have a nice looking aquascape. I’m having trouble finding easy to grow and easy to find carpeting plants. Please note that I am a beginner and do not use Co2 and run med light.

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I’m going to make my second 20g aquarium and I would like this one to have a nice looking aquascape. I’m having trouble finding easy to grow and easy to find carpeting plants. Please note that I am a beginner and do not use Co2 and run med light.
Hairgrass and micro sword will both live just fine in a low tech tank (one without co2). BUT they will not carpet in a reasonable period of time (think years instead of weeks or months). There is no real carpeting plant that will carpet in a low tech tank. You can use something like pearl weed which will take over an entire tank but is not really a 'carpet' since it will grow quite tall between trimmings.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Pearl weed sounds good becuse there’s no way I’m waiting years for there to have a carpet. Since I haven’t kept this plant before do you have any tips for keeping it as a carpeting/foreground plant at low light?

·
Registered
biOrb LIFE 45 L, planted, EI dosing, CO2 injected; ADA Cube Garden 45F, planted, EI dosing, low tech
32 Posts
Pearl weed sounds good becuse there’s no way I’m waiting years for there to have a carpet. Since I haven’t kept this plant before do you have any tips for keeping it as a carpeting/foreground plant at low light?