The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I am new to planted tanks. I was planning on doing a little planted scape to my aquarium. Currently I have lots of jungle val for the corner and background, java fern on a driftwood and a little patch of dwarf sag in one corner. I just ordered a bunch of DHG and wanted to carpet the rest of the unplanted area with that. I have read and heard about how it is best to plant the DHG (correct me if im wrong but "take as little hair as possible and spread it as evenly and thickly as possible and then cut it to about 1 cm above the substrate.") I have a sand substrate so I plant to use osmocote root tabs for my substrate but I do not know what water column fertilzer/s to use. I know I can't use florish excel because it melts the jungle val I have.

Do you have any advice for me? What would be very good water column fertilizer for DHG as well as my jungle val, java fern and dwarf sag?

P.S. I can't grow it emersed because the tank already established.

Thanks!!

Tank size: 10 gal
Lighting : 2 x 23 watt 6500k cfl with clip on desk lamps
DIY CO2
Sand Substrate with Osmocote root tabs

·
Carpe Diem
7,563 Posts
You are pretty close on how to plant DHG. There is a video on YouTube that shows that step by step. I think it's by Green Machine?

Fertilization wise, do read stickies at the top of Fertilization section of this forum - there is more info there then anybody needs :).

v3

·
Registered
3,328 Posts
No need to cut it when you first plant it. Let it get established first and form some runners before you trim it.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The greenmachine is where i learned how to plant these. I am new to this forum. What are stickies?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Very nice set ups Monster and Hybridherp. What fertilizers do you guys use for your tanks?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·