1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Equipment
Eheim Aquastyle 9 with Stock Light
Fluval 106 Filter
Glass Inflow & Outflow Lily Pipe 13mm (Poppy Style)

Livestock
2 Ottos
1 Blue Dwarf Gouramis
3 Amano shrimp

Plants
Marsilea minuta
Fissidens fontanus
Steam*

Week 39

Week 37

Week 36

Week 35

Week 34

Week 28

Week 26

Week 19

Week 17

Week 15

Week 8

Week 6

Week 3 - Redo

Week 1 - First Try

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I plan to create a dense carpet of hair grass and dwarf baby tears in different areas. I also want to add a fern of some sort and maybe some moss.

I would like to plant these as soon as possible but I am waiting for the tank to get established. I know I will need more light and co2 for it to grow in like I want.

I am very new to aquariums and cycling. Just taking it slow until I understand more.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
I plan to create a dense carpet of hair grass and dwarf baby tears in different areas. I also want to add a fern of some sort and maybe some moss.

I would like to plant these as soon as possible but I am waiting for the tank to get established. I know I will need more light and co2 for it to grow in like I want.

I am very new to aquariums and cycling. Just taking it slow until I understand more.

Plants can go in right away, no need to wait for cycling the tank. They'll even help buffer your tank chemistry from the inevitable spikes in nitrites/trates. Much easier to get your plants in and started, and do all your fiddling around getting the layout right, before adding your fish.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
After doing some research I realized I would need more light to keep my plants healthy. I do want fish too.. and the tank is ready for fish but not for all the plants I want.

A DIY light upgrade, CO2 and plant food is in the mail. Once I get the light tested and settled I will get my plants. (providing that its ok for the fish)