The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with dosing ferts. The plants I have all grew very well in an iron and mineral rich soil base which I have recently removed. The tank is bare bottomed now with the plants tied to wood. The water is ok for GH and KH, ~10 ppm nitrate and the lighting is low medium. The plants seem undaunted so far but I doubt it will last. The fish (goldfish) produce a lot of waste and I change a lot of water but I suspect I will have to add something to keep the plants thriving. I don't know where to start beyond that I know that I have enough nitrogen from the fish waste. I imagine the plants will need iron but don't know about potassium or phosphate. I don't really want to buy iron, P and K test kits right now and am very tempted to just start adding flourish and hope it covers all the bases. Is this likely to work or should I do something else?

·
Registered
11,721 Posts
Fish food usually contains enough:
N, P, most traces.
Fish food can be a bit lacking in:
K, Fe

I would dose API Leaf Zone (K and Fe) and see if the plants are happy. There are cheaper ways to buy K and Fe, but as a test, buying the fertilizers as a liquid is OK.

·
Registered
849 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Diana. You are helping me in another thread too and I have done some research. You say fish provide "most traces" which sound like some would be missing, to me. That supports my thinking that CSB+B is probably a good idea since my tank is heavily planted and it also provides the iron I know I need. I will add the potassium and see if the plants like it.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Buy some K2SO4 and CSM+B from nilocg here on the forum. Buying dry is the way to go. Very cheap and after a couple months you begin to realize it lasts forever compared to the bottled stuff.

·
Registered
500 Posts