The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've done about a week's worth of research now and I've read that injecting co2 does lower the ph AND that it doesn't actually lower the stuff that affects the fish. Like kh or something I can't find the article now of course.

Won't ph swings from 7.4 to 6.0 everyday stress the fish?

Sorry just a little confused thanks for any and all advice, Scott.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
PH swing is fine, osmotic swing is more harmful.

Hope this helps
That's the article I was trying to find thank you. So I'm fine then. Sorry beginner here just trying to give my fish the best possible experience.

·
Registered
284 Posts
I've done about a week's worth of research now and I've read that injecting co2 does lower the ph AND that it doesn't actually lower the stuff that affects the fish. Like kh or something I can't find the article now of course.

The Ph does swing but it happens gradually so the inhabitants slowly adapt to it. But if you were to move a fish from 6Ph water to 7Ph water without acclimation you would certainly kill it.

·
Registered
2,513 Posts
A large, sudden, pH move caused by alkalinity changes (measured by KH) may stress/harm fish, but not pH changes caused by CO2, which does not change alkalinity (KH). The damage, in the case of KH changes, is not the pH, but the osmotic pressure changes caused by the presumed shift in alkalinity, e.g.; from a strong acid or carbonate.

A sudden change to high CO2 levels will harm fish simply because the CO2 will suffocate them if they are not allowed to adapt to it slowly. The pH will be much lower with high CO2 levels than with low CO2 levels, but it is not the pH change that is harmful, in this case.

Sudden pH “crashes” are old wives tales. We now know that it is osmotic shock that does the damage and this can be measured by TDS, with GH usually heavily involved.

·
Registered
18 Posts