The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I built a DIY LED fixture that uses 27 Cree XP-Gs to light a 36" wide x 18" deep x 21" high tank. It hangs about 8" off the water surface and I run it with dimmable drivers at up to 1300 mA. (Pictures here). I'm wondering (a) how much PAR I'm getting at different dimming levels, and (b) whether I can increase PAR at depth by using optics.

I have a full set of 60 degree optics that I could install on the individual LEDs. But looking at them, I don't see how they could do much to increase light penetration into the tank. (The ones I have are these.) They are just white plastic cones with a rippled clear plastic lens at the end. The white plastic part absorbs light--it can't reflect or redirect it. So you waste any light that the LED emits outside the 60 degree cone. And the light that does emerge inside the 60 degree cone was already going in the way I wanted...right?

So what do LED optics do besides blocking light spillage?

·
Registered
357 Posts
optics help focus the light of the diodes. all cree LEDs have internal optics that spread at ~120 degrees, which is very wide and lends itself to less of the light beam effect and better color blending for multiple types of leds. It also provides good coverage at a lower height above the waters surface. if you have a very deep tank or need more intensity in a given area optics can deliver. typically though you need to raise you fixture higher to attain good coverage.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
My guess for the PAR you are getting, with the light 27 inches from the substrate, is:
@350 mAmps - 120 micromols of PAR
@1 Amp - 290 micromols of PAR
@ 1.3 Amp - 350 micromols of PAR

That is a lot of LEDs for that size tank if they are all cool white and all on at one time.

With 60 degree optics those light intensities should increase by about 30%.

·
Registered
148 Posts