The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

i'm new to all this but have been doing a shed load of reading for weeks and weeks. ive got to the point where my research needs a helping hand.

I am building up a planted tank, it is going to be almost entirely DIY for the sake of cost plus it allows me to do what i want and try other approaches.

I am building an optiwhite tank, 60x60x30cm. really like the idea of a shallow tank, plus the glass thickness i have is limiting me to nothing much taller than 30cm. looking at getting lily pipes and co2 diffusers hand made locally and going to have a crack at Diatomaceous earth (cat litter, dont hate me...;)) as part of the substrate after a long chat with a bonsai shop owner about acadama.

The part i need some opinions on is the lighting. I have a hydrophonic grow light, 125watt 6500k - very bright and looks like this

and a few sets of xenon HID kits for cars, 35watt 6500k, they are very bright and run off a 12v supply.

i suspect the grow light would possibly push out too much light but do the job better perhaps? but also it would consume more power. the HIDs are bright and use less power (im trying to keep costs down so this is a big plus!)

these are my options since the grow light i got from a boot fair for £3 and the HIDs i already have. im not looking to buy any luminaires etc.

any hanging system and reflectors will be made out of tubing and sheet metal.

so thats my little back story, would anyone with the knowledge be able to shed some light (no pun intended) on the pitfalls of my choices here please?

i have not found a huge amount on HIDs, they work on the same principle as metal hallides so in theory i think should be ok.