The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi

I am in a designing phase of my planted build and was reading a lot about LED lights that are available for planted tanks. Coming back to FW from a reef tank, I am a big fan of DIY LEDs and was running them at all times in my reef setups. My first thought was to modify my current LED light that features Cree XM-L and X-PE Leds, but with my busy life I might opt for buying an already made light instead.
I have some knowledge about LEDs for a saltwater tank in general, but after reading posts on planted tank and seeing pictures of people setups featuring leds, I realized I was way behind regarding FW LED lighting.
I have a source that can get me AquaIllumination Hydras for very good price, but I am starting to think that may be a huge overkill for a planted tank. I've seen most of the fw lights still use SMD strip leds that give out amazing results. I haven't seen many deep tanks with these LEDs though and hence my series of questions:

The tank is going to be either 48"Lx24"Wx20"H (if I keep my current reef ready tank) or something around 48"x22"x22"H if I sell my current setup and make myself a new one. Therefore I am looking into 18-20" water column and I would like to suspend my lights at least 10" from the water column.

My goals are a high-light CO2 injected tank that can grow light demanding plants. I am not sure yet if I achieve my goals, but I would rather start with a high-end light than have to upgrade later. The options I selected as are follows:

1. Getting two of these AI Hydras or one AI Hydra 52. I know these are expensive lights, but I can get them at a discount and I will have budget from selling my sw equipment. The problem is these are reef oriented lights and I don't even know if they can be tweaked to grow plants. I am also undecided if these would not be overkill for my tank