The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone

I'm new to the fishkeeping hobby, and started with a 10g planted tank with a Hagen Natural Plant System for Co2. I want to use a ceramic diffuser to get better rates of Co2 absorption, but i understand that DIY Co2 doesn't have enough pressure to drive a ceramic diffuser, so, a guy at the LFS told i could use a 3-way valve and add an air pump to increase pressure and help the Co2 pass through the ceramic ring.

My question is: is this advisable?

·
Registered
52 Posts
if you what to increase the pressure your going to have to use more bottles. I currently have 4 bottles w/ bubble counter bottle pushing co2 through a glass diffuser. Although it may seem better than a ladder, I think that it wastes more co2 because like the ladder a good percent of the bubbles dont get dissolved. So I added a powerhead with a reactor to get better diffusion of co2.

·
Super Moderator
11,971 Posts
Using DIY CO2 to drive a ceramic diffuser is mostly hit and miss. For some diffusers, you will have no problem generating enough pressure to get them to mist. For others, you will need a lot more pressure.

I would not recommend the use of a 3 way valve and adding an air pump to increase pressure. Air pumps usually don't give off enough pressure either (I tried to use an air pump on a glass/ceramic disc diffuser I have, and it would not work until I hooked it up to a pressurized CO2 tank).

As tacoman1423 mentioned, you will have to add additional bottles to your line if you want to increase the pressure.

·
Registered
414 Posts
My air pump couldn't drive a ceramic diffuser. However, if you seal your hoses well the yeast will eventually reach enough to drive the diffuser. It took 24 hours for it to start for me.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I am getting plenty of pressure w/ a 1L bottle, about 1 cup sugar and 1 tsp yeast. Sealed up good.