The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I buy a fair bit of seachem iron for my tanks and it can get pretty expensive. What are the components of chelated iron? Iron sulfate? Iron (III) chloride?

What could I use to make up my own mixture?

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I work in a lab so I have access to many different chemicals. I am just wondering what form the chelated iron comes in?

·
Registered
174 Posts
I would just buy a bag from Greg Watson and get it over with... I dont mean to insult your knowledge with chemistry JRS but I think that it would be wiser not to make your own plant nutrients in your lab. Just my opinion.

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
I believe there has been a discussion in the past that Seachem uses some form of chelated iron that is taken up easier by the plant than some of the other ETDA-iron offerings. It is expensive, though.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
2 litres in Canada is $46.99 :mad: Now do you see why I am looking for a cheaper alternative

·
Registered
174 Posts
you can buy 2 liters of it for 22 bucks at dr foster smith....I would hope 2 liters should last quite some time.
You can make 2.3 Liters for $8.99 + shipping (half pound) if you buy the dry stuff from Greg Watson.

Edit: Rex, you beat me to it! Its true, you can make about 4.5 liters with 1 pound.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
Seachem stuff is stabilized by utilizing gluconate and not artificial chelator (EDTA and the likes) based.
The process involves heating with boiler and a series of metodological mixing. I'd say it is not that easy to make, moreover most of the time you are required to buy a big bulk of materials when you need just a few pounds (or even a few grams).