The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone had luck with less than 5 discus fish? I have always wanted to get into discus but have always been a little turned off by the price. I have a 60 gallon tall thats cycling right now, and everything I read says I need to buy 5 of them. #1 is that 5 seems like a lot for a 60 gallon. # 2 the price for 5 is a bit steep. I am not interested in paying for a breaded pair, so thats a little off the table.

ADVICE PLEASE!!

·
Registered
52 Posts
I understand the pain. I currently have a 55 Gallon, and I actually have six discus in there at the moment. So yes a well-acquainted community of five discus should do just fine in your tank. As for cost, I am a college student so I totally understand cost issues regarding discus. I personally have never bought a discus larger than 3" from a local breeder. If you live in a big city, chances are there are people in the area breeding or importing their own discus. I live in the bay area while I am not in school so I purchase all of my discus from a really awesome breeder / importer in Milpitas for around 25$ ahead. There's definitely risks raising your own baby discus, but I personally find it more rewarding.

Now to answer your question, haha. I have had luck with only a single discus in a tank. Sometimes I get a discus that just doesn't seem to fit in well with the group. I've got a pigeon blood that has lived in alone in her own tank for about 4 years now, couldn't be happier. Also a friend currently has 3 discus in a 40-gallon breeder style tank. They also are doing just fine.

So it's not an absolute science by any means, but I would still recommend starting off with at least 5.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
11 Posts